Genealogical and Family History
STATE OF MAINE
Compiled under the editorial supervision of George Thomas Little, A. M., Litt. D.
LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY
[Please see Index page for full citation.]
[Transcribed by Coralynn Brown]
[Many families included in these genealogical records had their beginnings in Massachusetts.]
The unique public library of native stone, with gray granite trimmings, commodious and beautiful in all its details, was the gift of Mr. Edward J. Lawrence (whose genealogical sketich is to be found in these pages). The fine lot on which the library stands is opposite the public park and soldiers' monument, on Lawrence Avenue, and was donated by Mrs. Louise E. Newhall (whose family history is also printed in this work). These generous and public-spirited citizens have also contributed $2,000 each toward books for the library, which contains nearly seven thousand volumes. About one thousand one hundred volumes, many of them valuable books of reference, were the gift of the Fairfield Book Club. The ladies of this club were the originators of the idea of having a public library in Fairfield, and by their efforts a small circulating library was established in 1895 and continued until 1900, when the Lawrence Library building was erected. The work of the library has been very successfully conducted by the able librarian, Miss Frances Kenrick, and a branch library has been established at Fairfield Center, where the books are highly appreciated. The circulation from the main library during 1908 has been over fifteen thousand volumes.